Friday’s Daydream: Living Room Inspirations

In my first post, I mentioned that I have been daydreaming incessantly about decorating our new house. Since it still feels like forever until we actually move in (2 more weeks!) I thought I would share a few ideas for the living room in an attempt to re-engage my excitement about getting ourselves into so much debt. (And quell the absolute freak out that is brewing about this move.) From speaking with other home owners, I have come to the understanding that it’s not so unusual to have at least one complete emotional melt down prior to settlement.

After years and years of renting, we haven’t had much of a say in any decorating decisions. We are finally going to have a little fun!!

Here are my inspirations for this room…

I love the blue and white together and the personality that different fabrics add. We will probably need to incorporate a few more elements of visual interest, but we will cross that bridge when we actually get there! As for wall color, I am still looking around. The walls are currently neutral and will look okay in the mean time. I am completely drawn to the Pottery Barn-ish feel, but with our kids, Ikea washable slip covers offer the most family friendly solution for us.

So we got a jump-start on the new house decorating and bought a new slip cover and pillow covers at Ikea. We’ve only been talking about getting a new cover for this couch for the last 4 years! I think this gave us a pretty good jump on my design and I am loving the fresh new look already.

Before After

New slipcover, check! Similar ottoman, check!

Once we move in, I plan on refinishing an old dresser that we currently have stored at my parents house and will use that as a tv stand/entertainment center. The black and white artwork (from Pottery Barn) I have convinced myself that I can reproduce on the cheap with a piece of wood, some paint and some supplies from a local craft store. Once we move in, I will do a little fabric shopping so that I can re-cover a few more throw pillows to add to the mix. It seems like we never have enough lighting, so I have thrown an inexpensive floor lamp (from Ikea) into the mix for a simple and sleek solution.

I look forward to posting an update once we have actually moved in and completed the space! Any comments that might help me improve the overall look are definitely welcomed.

Have a Happy Friday!

About SparklingMomma

Full time Mom with a full time day job too. I love DIY projects, interior design, baking, the outdoors, fun activities with the kids, and lots of daydreaming!
This entry was posted in Design Boards and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Friday’s Daydream: Living Room Inspirations

  1. Sarah says:

    Looks good, you may want to try a few geometric patterns as well to help with the modern twist you like so much, just a thought. I am glad you are so excited for the move. I know I am excited enough for the both of you. Oh and as far as color goes, definitely feeling a cobalt blue, or perhaps a blue with a smokey undertone.

Leave a comment