Friday’s Daydream: The Girls’ Room

Today’s daydream is all about my girls! When we move into the new house, the girls will be sharing a room. (Okay, so maybe not right away because we’re not ready to deal with those middle of the night play sessions where everyone ends up in the crib with the baby, but eventually…So why not get planning now?) I’ve put together what I feel to be a pretty girls room without an excess of pink. So the main color will be a muted green. I know I would like to put up some sort of chair rail or architectural detail in the room, but haven’t decided exactly what yet. And, I’m sure the final decision will be driven by the price of materials for this said architectural detail.

I love, love, love the twin/daybed look with storage underneath. Rather than having toys get lost under the bed, why not store them under the bed instead? And with limited total storage space in the house, I see this coming in very handy. So ultimately, this room is all about function with just a few touches of  girly too.

In keeping with the whole theme of functionality, I would like to make a hair clip board to hang above their dresser. If anyone out there has girls, I’m sure you know what it’s like to try to track down lost hair clips. They are always in the most random places; on the bathroom vanity, kitchen counter, at the bottom of every drawer and in the corner of every room. This has to be the perfect solution to this problem!

From the pre-hubby days when I worked at Pier One, I picked up a pink mosaic mirror which will also find a home in the girls room. The beds we plan to make from scratch, but we do have a step stool and old dresser that look almost exactly like the one’s pictured above which will get a fresh paint of coat to liven them up. And, who said that mobiles aren’t for big kids too? I love the idea of adding a butterfly mobile for a super fun, girly and slightly modern flair!

I have to admit that the kids rooms are the rooms I am looking forward to the most and can’t wait to get started!

About SparklingMomma

Full time Mom with a full time day job too. I love DIY projects, interior design, baking, the outdoors, fun activities with the kids, and lots of daydreaming!
This entry was posted in Design Boards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday’s Daydream: The Girls’ Room

  1. Sarah says:

    Love It, Kira!

Leave a Reply

