Dreaming of the RV Life

Uh oh, it’s Monday and I am daydreaming already!

Since we first started looking to buy a home, we asked ourselves half-jokingly, “wouldn’t it be fun to live in an RV?” Because it now looks doubtful that we are going to buy the house that we had gone under contract on, we are now more seriously considering this as an option. So, today I Googled “RVing fulltime with kids” and came across this blog that documents the life of a  family of 7 traveling and living in an RV. I am just amazed by their journey. (And with my “hobby” for design, I love how they transformed and personalized their space to make it their own!) I figure, if they can do it with 5 kids, why couldn’t we do it with just 3?

We took a trip to Leo’s RV  in May and talked to a salesman there who showed us around the lot. We initially thought that a Class A would be great. However, the salesman first showed us a fifth wheel toy hauler, informing us that it would be the best for full-timing. We weren’t quite keen on the idea at first, but taking our first step into one, we knew that was it! It was are already equipped with  generator and is better insulated than the regular travel trailers. It had sooo many of the options that we wanted!

We fell in love with this one which has 1.5 baths, a loft bed, great height, a bunk perfect for our son, and a “toy” section that would be a great bunk room for the girls and a play room for the kids when the bunks are retracted into the ceiling. This section also had a deck with a railing that extended out the back. (I know the parents are thinking “all the toys would be thrown right off of the deck”, so I was thinking we would only extend that portion when all toys were picked up and accounted for.) Also one of my must haves was a washer/dryer hook up, which this one had too! I loved how spacious it felt and what a perfect fit for our family that it seemed to be.

Our Dream RV

Now, our family admittedly has a lot of stuff. The other night when I came home it looked as if a tornado had swept through our house. My husband and I looked at each other and were completely overwhelmed by laundry, toys and Tupperware (yes, this is our kids #1 all time favorite set of toys). At that moment, I just wanted to throw everything into a dumpster. Though we could do it regardless, I welcome this living situation that would force us to keep only the essentials and sell/donate everything else. I imagine that there might be a few things that I might want to store long-term, but I am at a point where I just want to downsize!

I feel all too often that we are stuck in the daily grind and are letting life pass us by. It would be wonderful to just pack up and take our house on vacation! This summer we have tried to stay active on the weekends with the kids by camping, going to the beach, air shows, bike rides, and it’s a life style that I wish we could live full-time. I crave adventure for my family!

 In the mean time, I will keep dreaming, researching and attempting to convince my husband that this is the ultimate life for us. 🙂

About SparklingMomma

Full time Mom with a full time day job too. I love DIY projects, interior design, baking, the outdoors, fun activities with the kids, and lots of daydreaming!
This entry was posted in Other Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

