Winning

From the title of this post, you might be thinking that I am going to discuss Charlie Sheen and his “Winning” philosophy of life, but it’s really about me winning the lottery.

Seriously, on Wednesday night, I won the lottery.

I won a whopping $8, whoo! This isn’t really grounds for celebration, but I actually got more money back than I put into it for once…

Though this may not be the occasion to break out the champaign, it got me thinking about my dream house. If I had $1 million budget for a home (in the DC metro area, it doesn’t get you a castle as you might think) what would my dream home look like?

So, first question: Where would I buy?

As much as we loved living in Marietta, Ohio, my husband and I decided that the dream location would put us in Davidsonville, MD. Good schools, bigger lots, bigger homes.

(A side note for my Marietta peeps: If this hypothetical situation really did come true, I’m positive that we would buy a second home there too. Which reminds me, if you are looking to buy in Marietta right now, check out Old Colony’s new site here, I love their new search layout! If you’re anything like me, you really only care about viewing the pictures, so Old Colony has come up with a way that you can scroll through pictures right on the results page! No more clicking through to the listing and then clicking back to the results page to see more. Is it strange that I get excited about that sort of thing? Maybe it has something to do with working for a software company.)

Although, we don’t need a huge home, the first thing on my must-have list is 4 bedrooms. Ideally I would even prefer to have 5. (And really that’s 1 bedroom for mom & dad, 1 for each child and 1 guest bedroom, which I don’t think is terribly unreasonable.) But, unfortunately, 5 bedrooms don’t exist too often unless it’s in a larger than average house.

Browsing through homes priced waaaay out of our real life price range, can you believe that I was not able to find one thing I actually liked? You would imagine, even with bumping up my imaginary budget to the $1.5 million dollar range, that I could find something that I liked.

Instead I saw things like this:

Is that a brown toilet hiding back there? I have to admit, I have never seen a toilet that color before. But, I guess it would be practical if you aren’t fond of cleaning toilets? (Ewwww!)

And this….

Now tell me, is that a car parked in their kitchen? Or an outdated kitchen in their garage? And why would you move a whole kitchen into your garage? *Things that make you go “hmmmm…”*

Other homes were just much, much, too formal. Can you picture my 3 crazy kids running through this home? I think not.

(Okay, this home is really $8 million, but, some places are just too ridiculous!)

So, I have compiled a few snap shots of things that I would like to see in my under $1 million dollar dream home:

An open, eat-in kitchen

All found here.

A walk-in Master Closet

From here.

I love kitchen islands, but I also love the idea of a closet island! And just look how many shoes you could fit into that space. *Love*

A fun play space for the kids

Here, here, here  and here.

I had to throw in the under the stairs play-nook, I just think that is the cutest! See it in more detail at Little Green Notebook.

A big fenced yard

Maybe with a playhouse?

here and here

A sweet laundry room

From here, and here.

And a beautiful soaking tub!

From here, here and here.

PHEW, is that all? I guess this means we’re either building our dream home or doing some serious remodeling! Some of these pictures might be a little more over the top than what I actually want, but a girl can dream, can’t she?

Thanks for taking a look and indulging with me! Leave a comment to let me know what is a must on your dream home list! (Oh, and while you’re at it, let me know if you like the updated page!)

About SparklingMomma

Full time Mom with a full time day job too. I love DIY projects, interior design, baking, the outdoors, fun activities with the kids, and lots of daydreaming!
This entry was posted in Inspiring and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winning

  1. Sarah Kukulka Pomroy says:

    Love the blog and all the pics. If I could have a dream home it would have to be a log cabin on about 5 acres. Totally rustic with all the modern day luxuries. Big beams and roaring fireplaces. Maybe even a den just for video games (i.e. man cave). What can I say I need some space. lol

Leave a Reply

