Painted Pumpkins!

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

Yesterday, I planned a crafty project with the kids that I can say was actually quite successful.

I used to love carving pumpkins, but in the days since having kids, it’s been an activity that I have done in the late evening hours after the kids have been in bed and have been too tired to really get into. In the past two years, sadly, I don’t think the pumpkins were even touched. We had purchased the pumpkins and left them out of the stoop for Halloween, uncarved and completely undecorated. So this year, I was determined to not only decorate the pumpkins, but get the kids involved too.

This year, I came across the idea to paint the pumpkins! (While browsing one of my favorite blogs, Young House Love.)

We first spray painted the pumpkins with some cheap white primer from Home Depot. I then taped designs on the pumpkins with masking tape, and finally let the kids go crazy with some non-toxic acrylic paint  and foam paint brushes from the craft store.

The painting session went a little like this:

 

My two oldest, Oaken and Skylar picked out their favorite colors, blue and pink. (Although, Oaken’s was a little more turquoise than I thought it would be.) Overall, the kids had a great time and I would definitely recommend this project to anyone.

Leave a comment and let me know about your favorite pumpkin designs!

About SparklingMomma

Full time Mom with a full time day job too. I love DIY projects, interior design, baking, the outdoors, fun activities with the kids, and lots of daydreaming!
This entry was posted in Crafty Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Painted Pumpkins!

  1. Bora says:

    I love the pic of Clara! She is so big now. Miss you guys!

  2. Pingback: Fall Mantel Decorating | Fab Fam Five

  3. Pingback: Mantel Progress! | Fab Fam Five

Leave a Reply

