Renting Baby Clothes?

Yep, that’s right. There is a new site called Plum that allows you to rent children’s clothes.

They have deemed themselves the Netflix for baby clothes. For as quickly as children grow out of clothes, this sounds like a wonderful idea!

How it works:

1. Sign up for an account at www.plumgear.com and choose how many items you would like to order at that time. (5, 10, or 15 items) You pay a monthly subscription according to how many items you want for that 30 day period.

2. Browse through their selection of boutique baby clothes. Brands include Tea Collection, Rabbit Moon, Kate Quinn Organics, Petit Bateau, My O Baby, Le Top, Petit Lem, Mini Muffin, Winter Water Factory, Angel Dear, and Baby Soy. (Super cute stuff, you have to at least check it out!)

3. Return the items as soon as 30 days after your order originally shipped, or keep them as long as you want. If you choose to cancel the subscription and want to keep the clothes, then you can pay a restocking fee to keep the items.

That’s it! Pretty simple huh?

I really do love this idea and think the concept is much better than ThredUp. ThredUp is a site where you pay $10 for a box of used clothing and never truly know exactly what you are going to get until it arrives. Both Plum and ThredUp are relatively new to the online clothing swap type medium, so there is still a lot of room for improvement, but I still think both present wonderful alternatives for clothing your growing children on the cheap somewhat inexpensively.

Things that I like about Plum (at least from what I understand from browsing their site):

– My first concern about this idea was with the fact that children are notorious for stains. Plum will still allow you to return stained items with no additional cost and will either fix the problem, donate the item or recycle the piece of clothing.

– You can pick from a variety of items and you know what you are going to get. The clothing will be clean, free of stains and meet your expectations.

– Their site is super simple and easy to navigate. VERY user friendly, which I really appreciate.

– They have a bunch of adorable items to choose from.

Plum Bummers:

– They only carry sizes 0- 2T (This makes me super sad because I only have one child, out of three, that I could try this out with!)

– There are outfits, dresses, rompers and onesies, but no separates. Which means no pants and no individual shirts.

– Subscriptions are fairly expensive. As compared to ThredUp, where you can keep the clothes that you pay for, Plum charges $33 to rent just 5 items. (10 items for $59/month and 15 items for $84/month.) But, if you are in the market for a $60 high-end boutique outfit that your baby will grow out of in a month, then this probably is a good option for you!

Plum did just launch in April 2011, so here’s hoping that they are successful and are able to expand their selections quickly.

Bottom line, I think this is a great concept and I hope you will at least take a few minutes to check it out for yourself. I still frequent the Old Navy clearance rack for my kids where I can find a t-shirt for $1.00, so Plum’s current subscriptions don’t really work for our family. However, if anyone ever develops a site with non-boutique clothing, a wider range of sizes, a little more variety and a lower monthly subscription, I will definitely be on-board!

About SparklingMomma

Full time Mom with a full time day job too. I love DIY projects, interior design, baking, the outdoors, fun activities with the kids, and lots of daydreaming!
This entry was posted in Baby Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Renting Baby Clothes?

  1. shoes says:

    Wow, what an interesting idea! I want to learn more about online kid clothes rentals. It is a shame that both my boys are older than 2 (5 & 3). We have been super luck to receive lots of hand me downs from friends and have a great Goodwill in our town where I have found brandname, looking like new, clothes for the boys. I am all about the kid clothes karma and love passing our gently (and sometimes not so gently) used clothes along to other families we know.

  2. Hand me downs are a lifesaver! ThredUp is another cool site that I have come across for childrens clothing that might be worth a look. I have not had the guts to try it out yet, but let me know if you come across anything else online!

Leave a Reply

