Refashioned T-Shirt to Cute Shrug

First of all, Happy New Year everyone!

The holidays are over and now I can  get caught up on some posts that I have been so excited to share. Though the holidays were super busy, we were able to enjoy some much-needed family time and finally got some good pictures of the kids together!

I also got the sewing machine up and running, so I have been able to start on some projects I have been dying to do.

Number one on the list was to make a shrug that I had pinned on Pinterest a while back. We are fortunate enough to get a few hand me downs on occasion, and sometimes they have a few flaws, maybe a stain here or there? But I found this tutorial from Make It and Love It and was inspired to repurpose this t-shirt!

Yep, I had all of the necessary tools to get started! iPad with the tutorial handy, TV remote, seam ripper and other miscellaneous sewing supplies.

With a few modifications, I came up with this as a final result!


Not too shabby if I may say so myself! (Considering the fact that the last thing I made with a sewing machine was a pillow in 7th grade Home Ec.)

And while I had Skylar model the shrug, the other kids joined in on the photo shoot too…

Too cute 🙂

Moral of this story: Think twice before you donate or throw out clothes. Be creative and you can probably repurpose a clothing item too!

About SparklingMomma

Full time Mom with a full time day job too. I love DIY projects, interior design, baking, the outdoors, fun activities with the kids, and lots of daydreaming!
This entry was posted in DIY'ed, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Refashioned T-Shirt to Cute Shrug

  1. schmolphin says:

    Sweet & simple! I like it too! Been wanting to try out myself by errr hesitating on my sewing skills since I don’t owe any sewing machines… =(

    • It was suprisingly easy to make. I did start this project by hand before I had my sewing machine, but was able to finish it up with the machine. So you might be able to do it by hand if you have some serious patience!

  2. awww that is beyond adorable!

Leave a Reply

